How can students resubmit their assessments via the Turnitin instance in my course?

Refer to your school policy regarding student resubmissions first. 

To allow a student to resubmit, you have to delete their submission in the Turnitin instance you have created in Moodle. Note that you will not be able to recover this file once it has been deleted. 

When students resubmit, the previous version of their paper will be overwritten by their latest submission.  Only one submission at a time can exist for each student in the assignment inbox.


If a student resubmits, will Turnitin check the results against the same student?

Turnitin will only automatically exclude a self match if the submission has been made to the same assessment by the same student.

To exclude self matches from the originality report, follow these instructions:

  1. Open the Originality Report of the student
  2. Hover over the match you want excluded, and click on the "right arrow” that appears (>) to enter "Match Breakdown*" mode.
  3. Click the "Exclude Sources" button at the bottom of the page
  4. Click on the check-boxes next to the sources you want to exclude.
  5. Click the red "exclude" button at the bottom of the page.

Late submissions

By default, all Turnitin instances created in Moodle allow late submissions unless you specifically change this in your Turnitin instance.

All late submissions will be highlighted in red on the submission inbox of that Turnitin instance.